Sunday, March 18, 2012

Countdown to the new Philip José Farmer books from Titan! (post #2)

As I noted a couple weeks ago, this series of posts outlines Titan Books' current plans for its series of Philip José Farmer reissues, which fall under the umbrellas Wold Newton Series and Grandmaster Series.

As previously announced, three titles are coming up quickly. And one Wold Newton book by Farmer has already been published, although it fell under the umbrella of their "Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" line.
The Wold Newton series will have several different "sub-series." Last post I listed the "main" Wold Newton series and the "Prehistory" sub-series.

Today, I'm pleased to announce a third "sub-series," Secrets of the Nine: Parallel Universe. The first two books are listed below--including the breaking news that Art Sippo, an expert on both Farmer and the pulps, will be contributing the afterword to the classic Lord Grandrith/Doc Caliban novel A Feast Unknown!

Art's piece is an expansion of his talk at PulpFest 2011/FarmerCon VI, in which he vigorously and persuasively defended and advocated for A Feast Unknown as a loving tribute to Farmer's heroes Lord Greystoke and Doc Savage.

In addition, I'm pleased to announce that I'll contribute the foreword to the Lord Grandrith novel Lord of the Trees, in which I plan to discuss the similarities and differences between the "Lord Grandrith/Doc Caliban Universe" and the mainstream Wold Newton Universe.

Art and I will both be at FarmerCon VII  / Pulpfest 2012 in August to discuss the books and our contributions.
Like the rest of Titan's Farmer reissues, the books will also be available in digital editions for Kindle and Nook. I'll post cover scans as soon as I have them.
Wold Newton Series
The Peerless Peer (June 2011)
  •  Afterword by Win Scott Eckert
The Other Log of Phileas Fogg (May 2012)
  • Afterword by Win Scott Eckert: "Only a Coincidence: Phileas Fogg, Philip José Farmer, and the Wold Newton Family"
  • Chronology by Win Scott Eckert: "A Chronology of Major Events Pertinent to The Other Log of Phileas Fogg"

(Wold Newton Prehistory Series)
Time’s Last Gift (June 2012)
  • Afterword by Christopher Paul Carey: "John Gribardsun and the Prehistoric Wold Newton Family"
  • Chronology by Win Scott Eckert and Dennis E. Power: "Gribardsun through the Ages: A Chronology of Major Events Pertinent to Time’s Last Gift"
  (Secrets of the Nine: Parallel Universe)
A Feast Unknown (October 2012)
  • Afterword by Art Sippo
Lord of the Trees (November 2012)
  • Foreword by Win Scott Eckert
Grandmaster Series
Lord Tyger (July 2012)
  • (Bonus materials to be announced soon!)


Charles R. Rutledge said...

I'm just glad to see all of these books coming back into print for new readers to discover and long time fans like me to get new copies of.

Claudio Bovino said...

I started my collection of Titan's Farmer reissues with "The Peerless Peer"... very nice!!! and I'm just beginning!!! Thank you very much, Win!!! ;)