Friday, March 30, 2012

Countdown to the new Philip José Farmer books from Titan! (post #3)

As I've mentioned in Post #1 and Post #2, this series covers Titan Books' current plans for its series of Philip José Farmer reissues, which fall under the umbrellas Wold Newton Series and Grandmaster Series.

Three titles are coming up quickly; in fact, The Other Log of Phileas Fogg is due out in one short month! And one Wold Newton book by Farmer has already been published, although it fell under the umbrella of Titan's "Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" line.
The Wold Newton series will have several different "sub-series,: encompassing mainstream Wold Newton novels, Wold Newton Prehistory novels, and Secrets of the Nine: Parallel Universe novels.
Last post I announced A Feast Unknown (with Art Sippo contributing a new afterword) and its sequel Lord of the Trees (I'll be contributing a new foreword, discussing the similarities and differences between the universe of The Nine, inhabited by Lord Grandrith and Doc Caliban, and the mainstream Wold Newton Universe where Lord Greystoke and Doc Savage reside).

Tonight I'm pleased to announce the bonus materials for Lord Tyger
  • Joe R. Lansdale is eminently suited to contribute a new introduction to this Burroughsian-flavored novel, as he is one of the few (along with Philip José Farmer himself!) to write an authorized Tarzan novel.
  • And Paul Spiteri, a Farmerian expert and the editor of the critically acclaimed Farmer collection Pearls from Peoria (Subterranean Press) has written a fine foreword.

Check out the gorgeous cover to the new edition of the Lord Grandrith novel Lord of the Trees!

To recap, here is the lineup to date. Stay tuned to this space as I'll be revealing more soon.

Wold Newton Series
The Peerless Peer (June 2011)
  •  Afterword by Win Scott Eckert
The Other Log of Phileas Fogg (May 2012)
  • Afterword by Win Scott Eckert: "Only a Coincidence: Phileas Fogg, Philip José Farmer, and the Wold Newton Family"
  • Chronology by Win Scott Eckert: "A Chronology of Major Events Pertinent to The Other Log of Phileas Fogg"

Wold Newton Prehistory Series
Time’s Last Gift (June 2012)
  • Afterword by Christopher Paul Carey: "John Gribardsun and the Prehistoric Wold Newton Family"
  • Chronology by Win Scott Eckert and Dennis E. Power: "Gribardsun through the Ages: A Chronology of Major Events Pertinent to Time’s Last Gift"
 Secrets of the Nine: Parallel Universe

A Feast Unknown (October 2012)
  • Afterword by Art Sippo
Lord of the Trees (November 2012)
  • Foreword by Win Scott Eckert

 Grandmaster Series
Lord Tyger (July 2012)
  • Introduction by Joe R. Lansdale
  • Foreword by Paul Spiteri

No comments: